Sarah Tolmie

Sarah Tolmie is the author of three collections of poetry with McGill-Queen’s University Press: Check (2020), The Art of Dying (2018: finalist for the Griffin Prize) and Trio (2014: finalist for the Pat Lowther Award). She has published eight books of fiction, embracing short story, novella and novel, including The Fourth Island (2020) and All the Horses of Iceland (2022) with, and The Stone Boatmen (2014: finalist for IAFA’s Crawford Award) and The Little Animals (2019: Special Citation at the Philip K Dick Awards) with Aqueduct Press.

She is a medievalist trained at the University of Toronto and Cambridge and is a Professor of English at the University of Waterloo.

Read Sarah’s entry in the Encyclopedia of Science Fiction.

Sacraments for the Unfit cover
Sacraments for the Unfit (Aqueduct Press, July 2023)
All the Horses of Iceland cover
All the Horses of Iceland (, 2022)
Disease cover
Disease (Aqueduct Press, 2020)
Fourth Island cover
The Fourth Island (, 2020)
Check cover
Check (McGill-Queen’s UP, 2020)
Little Animals cover
The Little Animals (Aqueduct Press, 2019)
Art of Dying cover
The Art of Dying (McGill-Queen’s UP, 2018)
Two Travelers cover
Two Travelers (Aqueduct Press, 2016)
Trio cover
Trio (McGill-Queen’s University Press, 2015).
Blue Dress cover
Sonnet in a Blue Dress and Other Poems (Baseline Press, 2014).
NoFood cover
NoFood (Aqueduct Press, 2014).
Stone Boatmen cover
The Stone Boatmen (Aqueduct Press, 2014).